Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

📷: instagram.com/itslindak

I don’t know about you, but I’m just the slightest bit obsessed with international supermodel (and the first Asian model to walk the VS Fashion Show), Liu Wen. Take a scroll through her Instagram account and you’ll see what I mean–casually gorgeous, jet-setting, with flawless skin. Well, then, you’d be interested to know that she achieves this look with a few secret weapons, one of them being…the 🥚.

In fact, many of her supermodel sisters would agree (see Vogue’s 6 Chinese Models Share Their Hometown Beauty Secrets: From Egg-White Face Masks to Peach-Blossom Nails by Laura Regensdorf, April 17, 2015). All that to say: I decided to give it a go. And since I’m also a little obsessed with researching, I came well-prepared.

Which came first: the chicken or the egg? Well, not really sure. And not really sure which culture started using eggs as face/hair masks, first, either. But the Chinese are not the only ones on this hot tip. Apparently, the Swedes have been into it for generations, and offer their special blend in soap bar form, courtesy of Victoria Scandinavian Soap’s Lanolin-Ägg-Tvål. Egg whites are making a big splash in South Korea with products like the Egg White line from Skinfood and Too Cool for School’s Egg line. And I’m sure many other countries and companies can stake a claim, which just goes to show it’s a pretty credible reco.

The experiment. So like any good experiment, I tried two variables and a control group (below, in order of least successful to most beloved):

  • Variable Two: Birchbox guest blogger Rodan Luo’s DIY Face Mask. I chose both of the experimental groups based on the fact that they were purportedly simple and required very few ingredients. This one was egg white, banana, honey, and oatmeal. But it was sort of labor intensive, messy, and not easy to apply. Thanks, but no thanks!
  • Variable One: Celebrity aesthetician Joanna Vargas’ 3-Product DIY Face Mask. This one called for egg white, lemon juice, and yogurt. Simple enough, but still a few extra steps and seemingly not much of an added benefit.
  • Control group…and the winner: A single egg white. Easy, right? All I did was separate an egg white from the yolk, whisk up the egg white, apply in circular motion with my fingers, let dry for about 10 minutes, and wash off. Ridiculously easy, quick, and seemed to work just as well as the other two with much less fuss and muss.

The results. Model Xiao Wen Ju suggests three times a week, which works for me! My skin was left feeling smoother, brighter, tighter, and super clean! Everything I read about egg white seemed to suggest that it was good for blackheads. Maybe I was expecting something like a blackhead nose strip–it’s not that effective, but like I said, my skin felt really clean!

Pro tips. Make sure not to wash off with hot water…I mean, unless you want to eat breakfast off your face. Other sources have suggested using the yolk as a hair mask, but that just seemed a lot more involved/mess-prone. But, hey, if you’re a brave soul, Google it. Just make sure to cook–I meant, rinse–with cold water.

Have fun out there and let me know how it goes!

