Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


M hates that people look up to her (she’s model tall). What she doesn’t get is that we look up to her because she’s a timeless beauty, inside and out. Well-mannered, but down-to-earth; gorgeous complexion, without a hint of makeup. So what are her secrets? Not to worry, I grilled her for our benefit.

*****

Beauty Regent: What’s your daily skincare regimen?

M: We should probably start with my nighttime routine because I shower at night. So…shower, then moisturize all over [head-to-toe] with a mix of baby oil and baby lotion (or any lotion, really,…I use a lot of L’Occitane), mixed together. I have really dry skin, so I moisturize A LOT.

Next, I focus on my face. I massage two pumps of Shiseido Perfect Cleansing Oil onto my face and then rinse off with warm water and pat dry with my hands. A few sprays of Nature Republic Argan 20 Essential Toner or Tatcha Luminous Dewy Skin Mist directly on the face.

Once or twice a week, I like to do a face mask. I know it sounds weird to put toner on, first, but it works sort of like a mask primer, if you will. I like masks from The Face Shop or Nature Republic. Don’t wash off the mask serum. After/optionally (depending on which mask I use), I might spray a few more sprays of the argan toner or Tatcha mist.

Whether or not I use a mask on that particular day, the next step is Qiora Moisture Balance DH. Don’t get too attached to this–I hear Qiora is discontinuing this line. The key is to find a good, heavy moisturizer. Finish off with SK-II Essential Power Eye Cream. Just gently pat a small amount around each eye. This stuff is expensive, but you get what you pay for.

And, of course, it’s important to get a good, full night of beauty sleep. Don’t underestimate it!

BR: So what about your morning routine?

M: I rinse with cold water to wake up, then moisturize with 1-2 drops Clé de Peau Radiant Multi Repair Oil, gently massaging it into my skin. Another application of the Qiora moisturizer and then I finish off with–MOST IMPORTANT–Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion Wetforce Broad Spectrum SPF 50+. Make sure to put this on all over! Face, neck, ears, behind the ears–SPF is key!

BR: So, really, no makeup?

M: The only makeup I use is lipstick. Usually just drugstore brands in berry shades!

BR: So…part of the reason I wanted to interview you was because your daily fluid consumption is…interesting. I don’t mean to poke fun, but at any given moment in the office, there might be 2-3 drinks on your desk. May I ask what that’s all about?

M: [Laughs] Yea, you can say I value hydration.

BR: Is there a rhyme or reason? Or just whatever you’re craving at the moment?

M: There are definitely some daily standards. Especially water. Have you heard about ‘yin yang water’? It’s half boiling mixed with half cold water. I drink 12-18 ounces of yin yang water with lemon when I wake up and will drink several more cups throughout the day. I usually drink chrysanthemum tea with breakfast and might have another cup or hot green tea in the afternoon. If I’m really tired on a particular day, I might have a small cup of black coffee. But (and this might just be me) definitely no caffeine after 1pm. I’d be up all night! I also stop drinking any-/everything about 30 minutes before bedtime so I don’t have to get up to use the restroom throughout the night.

BR: Tell me about the mysterious water-with-fuzzy-dots drink you finally turned me on to [sidenote: this is not the most attractive drink, looks-wise. If you suffer from trypophobia, steer clear. Otherwise, it’s really not as strange as you’d think…flavorless and kind of fun to drink!].

M: Chia water! Add 2 tablespoons of chia seeds to just about any drink–hot or cold. They go in as dry chia seeds, but the liquid makes them sort of…expand. And a gel coating forms over each seed. So don’t pour it into the liquid and then drink right away. Give the seeds some time to absorb the liquid and mix it from time to time so they don’t clump together. These are really good for digestion!

BR: Awesome! Thanks for the recos! Anything else you want to add? Don’t hold out on us!

M: Oh, there are a ton of “secrets” (and beverages!) I could share. My mom is half-Japanese and half-Chinese, so she has taught me a lot of the beauty secrets she grew up with, but I guess I’ll just “tease” your next post and recommend hot water with red dates (whole or sliced, but make sure to remove the pits). On the weekends, I drink this throughout the day. It’s said to be good for women.

BR: Ha! Yes, thanks for the plug. Wouldn’t have known the glorious benefits of red dates without you, but I’ll expand on that next time. Anyhow, thanks again for sharing with me!

*****

Hope you guys enjoyed getting to know M! I really admire her natural beauty. If my skin was half as good as hers, I probably wouldn’t wear makeup, either! I’m interested to hear your skincare routines. Please share, below! Or if you end up trying all or part of M’s routine, let us know how it goes!

